A Change is Gonna Come : A Movement Culture Callout

I feel deeply saddened and betrayed that things had to come to this , yet here we are .

I have always believed that silence is complicit to wrong doing . And for every time I shrunk myself in fear of being left behind , every time I plunged my teeth into my tongue and clenched my jaw , every time I became reactive – I made room for more harm (and I carry deep shame around this).

I will not be silent anymore.

There are people who Look like us that are Not fit to lead this Sacred Work. People who are well educated and versed in the ways of old capitalism and how white domination operates, that have themselves and families been subjected to these violent systems.
People who are fierce objectors of the police state yet actively and vehemently police Black Bodies . People who speak of healing and are still in an unhealed hurting state and frequency .

It pains me that greed can corrupt Anyone, and power lust can crush even the most revered and hopeful among us. It pains my spirit and soul that leaders so knowledgeable, so intelligent and empathetic can be soured by malice and hatred and take on the old tired shape of our oppressors .

This all cuts so deep and I promise this isn’t to be messy , to stir any pot but to invoke what (this city) Culture really is in need of :

Radical Honesty , Love and Compassion .

I judge no one for their actions . I ask for the sake of accountability Genuine Repentance and CHANGE of Behaviors.

I want to share my experience for the youth :
the baby organizers, the yg’s in the streets , now this Message is FOR YOU :

DO NOT MARTYR YOURSELF FOR THE MOVEMENT.

Anyone that romanticizes your Work. Anyone who fetishizes your Ashé, your Power. Anyone who exploits your Labor. Anyone who will sacrifice You – IS NOT FOR YOU !!!

Do Not Accept Any Harm from Anyone who treats you outside your Inherit Dignity .

As 2020 has taught us , transition and adaptation are essential to continue on in this world . It is with a heavy heart that I am announcing I will be stepping down as community organizer and member of Black Love Resists in the Rust.
Though this news may come as a shock to some of you , I want to remind us all that break ups and departures are a part of nature . As Adrienne Maree Brown said it helps to release attachments to how things should go and embrace when breaking up happens.

I am grateful for the political home I found within BLRR at such a crucial moment personally and nationally . I feel privileged to have been touched by truly talented community organizers that saw me fully and encouraged my growth that led me to becoming the Black Abolitionist I am today. I am thankful for their embodiment of freedom, that they were as passionate about their liberation as they were for the collective of us all. I will carry with me the experiences, numerous trips, lessons from all the teach- ins, political education salons and workshops I was blessed to share with Just Resisting and Black Love Resists in the Rust as I continue my journey towards achieving liberation.


Black Love Resist in the Rust has shown me what is possible in the types of inclusive spaces I, as a queer differently abled Black Person can find solace in this city. I am still committed to continuing building with the communities in this city to define justice and seek it out for themselves.

The way we get free is by freeing ourselves with love and valuing ourselves whole FIRST then let that overflow into our interconnected webs of community.

I love us all . We won’t taste freedom if we keep sacrificing ourselves- That isn’t Liberation.

Liberation is Life Giving and long lasting .
Never forget this .

I look forward to carrying on this movement work with you all.

Leave a comment